2022 Board Members

Mike Lindsay, president
Ramsey County
Communications Associate | Communications & Public Relations

Term expires December 2022

Mike Lindsay joined the communications and public relations team of Ramsey County in March 2019. He supports digital internal and external communication for information and public records departments, including the county assessor, property tax and elections. In his community engagement role, Mike coordinates the county’s presence and outreach efforts at several annual events and festivals.

His professional career includes entertainment sales and event production, higher education student affairs policy and adjudication, and a passion for local government as a frequent volunteer in the City of Saint Paul. Mike holds a Bachelor of Arts degree in communication and linguistics from Luther College in Decorah, IA.

Jordan Gilgenbach, vice president, fall conference co-chair
Digital Communications Coordinator
City of Minneapolis

Term expires December 2023

Jordan Gilgenbach has been the Digital Communications Coordinator for the City of Minneapolis since September 2016, and focuses primarily on web, social and other digital communications strategy and implementation. Jordan has spent his entire career in local government communications, previously having worked for the City of Edina, Minn. as Communications Coordinator.

Will Rottler, treasurer, communications committee chair  
Communications & Events Specialist
City of Columbia Heights

Term expires December 2023

Will Rottler joined the City of Columbia Heights as the Communications and Events Specialist in March 2020. Will manages social media accounts, creates content for the newsletter and website, and oversees citywide events.

Prior to joining local government, he worked at his alma mater, Minnesota Morris, and Penn State in the athletic communications field.

Will has a Bachelor of Arts in communications, media, and rhetoric from the University of Minnesota Morris, and a Master of Science in journalism from South Dakota State University.

Kaili Braa, CAPM, secretary, fall conference co-chair
Administrative-Communications Coordinator
Dakota County Community Development Agency

Term expires December 2023

As part of the administration team at the Dakota County Community Development Agency (CDA), one of Kaili’s many tasks is the coordination of internal and external communications and information, whether on the intranet or agency’s website, or larger initiatives such as events and special projects. In addition, Kaili is the assistant to the executive director and clerk to the CDA Board of Commissioners, and assists with human resources and records management needs.

Kaili has a Bachelor of Science degree from Minnesota State University - Mankato, and two professional certificates from the University of Minnesota: one in communications and one in project management. She also holds a Certified Associate in Project Management (CAPM) credential through the Project Management Institute (PMI), and has served on the MAGC Fall Conference Committee for two years prior to joining the board.

Ashley Klemer, northern lights chair
Communications Specialist
City of Bloomington

Term expires December 2023

Ashley is the City of Bloomington’s main writer and photographer, responsible for producing and editing content for two monthly newsletters, annual reports, press releases and the occasional social media post. She’s passionate about showing the human side of local government and making connections between communities through storytelling.

Ashley has a BA in english literature from the University of Minnesota—Duluth. She is a trained ToPs facilitator. Ashley has also served on the MAGC Northern Lights Committee for four years and the communications committee for three years before joining the board. 

Carolyn Marinan, past president
Chief Public Relations Officer
Hennepin County

Term expires December 2022

Carolyn Marinan is the chief public relations officer for Hennepin County. She has worked in communications in the county since 1998. Previously Carolyn spent nearly 20 years in television news and promotion at WCCO TV, KSTP TV and KARE 11. She’s done talk radio and produced and hosted a local travel show on TPT. Her numerous awards include a New York Film Festival award, Telly Awards, Best of Gannett and AP. Carolyn serves on the National Association of County Information Officers (NACIO) Board of Directors.

Carolyn graduated from the University of Minnesota with a BA in speech-communication. She remains involved with mentoring students at the University of Minnesota along with being active in the Hennepin University Partnership. She lends her time as well to other worthwhile causes in need of communications and public relations.

Michael Schommer, at-large
Communications Director

Term expires December 2022

As communications director for the Minnesota Department of Health, Michael Schommer directs the department’s communications activities including media relations, social media, web and internal communications. Prior to joining MDH, he served as communications director for the Minnesota Department of Agriculture from 1999 to 2013. He started his career as a newspaper reporter in the southern Minnesota towns of New Ulm and Rochester.

Schommer earned a bachelor’s degree in journalism from the University of St. Thomas, and a master’s degree in strategic communication from the University of Minnesota. He served as 2016 and 2020 president of the National Public Health Information Coalition, and as a board member for the organization since 2015. He also serves on the alumni society board of the University of Minnesota Hubbard School of Journalism & Mass Communication.

Professional areas of interest include crisis and risk communication, media relations, social media, communications psychology and information processing. He has helped state and local agencies respond to numerous public health and safety issues over the years, including the COVID-19 pandemic, the outbreak of lung injuries associated with vaping in 2019, and Minnesota’s measles outbreak in 2017.

Jenna Bowman, workshop chair
Communications & Engagement Manager/Interim Communications Director
City of Rochester

Term expires December 2022

Jenna joined the City of Rochester in July of 2018 as City’s first ever Communications & Engagement Manager.  She recently stepped into the role of Strategic Communications & Engagement Director.  Jenna led the organization through a branding process and website redesign. 

The City of Rochester has been focused on growing digital engagement channels and also has added a digital engagement tool.  Jenna serves as the organization’s lead Public Information Officer. 

Ari Lyksett, fall conference co-chair  
City of Chanhassen

Term expires December 2023

Ari Lyksett joined the City of Chanhassen in July of 2021 as the Communications Manager, and focuses primarily on managing web, print, video, and digital communications. In addition, Lyksett is responsible for creating internal and external communications, press releases, strategic communication plans, and serves as brand manager.

Lyksett has nearly a decade of experience in communications, serving non-profits and government agencies. She earned her bachelor’s degree in journalism from the University of Wisconsin-River Falls. She is a trained ToPs Facilitator and serves as the Digital Media Specialist for the Youth in Government Program.

Minnesota Association of Government Communicators | 5775 Wayzata Blvd, Suite 700 | St. Louis Park, MN 55416

2024 © Minnesota Association of Government Communicators. All rights reserved.

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software