Print Page | Sign In | Register
Past Award Recipients

Northern Lights Contest Awards

Congratulations to our past Northern Lights contest winners. You have set a high bar for government communications. You push all of us to do better, and we look forward to what future years will bring for each of us.

And congratulations to all who have participated in our contest. Submitting work for peer review signifies your dedication to improving your communications efforts and interest in striving for excellence in your work. Well done!


Special Achievement Awards

Communicator of the Year Award

1986 - Ted Kolderie, senior fellow, U of M Humphrey Institute
1987 - Dr. Michael Oserholm, Minnesota Epidemiologist
1988 - Jan Smaby, Host, KTCA "Almanac" public affairs TV program
2011 - Tom Conroy, Department of Natural Resources
2012 - Julie Lehr, City of Woodbury
2013 - Margie Vigoren, City of Plymouth
2014 - Kevin Olson, Minnesota National Guard
2015 - Scott Pengelly, Minnesota Department of Natural Resources
2016 - Sergeant John Eastham, Ramsey County Sheriff's Office
2017 - Libby Caulum, Minnesota Department of Revenue

(no recipients in the years not listed)

Scott Pengelly Lifetime Achievement Award

MAGC's Lifetime Achievement Award was named in honor and memory of Scott Pengelly in 2017.

2012 - Tom Hedges, City of Eagan
2014 - Buddy Ferguson, Minnesota Department of Health
2015 - Bob Gibbons, Metro Transit
2017 - Helen LaFave, City of Plymouth

(no recipients in the years not listed)